→ Rob Neyer on the Wil Myers Trade

But Wil Myers is the latest winner of Baseball America’s latest Minor League Player of the Year. Here are the last 10 non-pitchers who won that award: Mike Trout, Jason Heyward, Matt Wieters, Jay Bruce, Alex Gordon, Delmon Young, Joe Mauer, Rocco Baldelli, Eric Chavez, Paul Konerko. Oh, and the previous five awards? Andruw Jones twice, Derek Jeter, Manny Ramirez, and Tim Salmon.

That’s 15 awards, and just one non-star (Delmon Young) in the whole bunch. Based on this measure alone, it seems there’s an excellent chance the Royals just traded away a future star … and there’s roughly a 50/50 chance they just traded a future superstar. Oh, and one more thing about that list … I don’t believe a single one of those guys was traded before getting a single at-bat with the team that initially signed and developed him.

I hate the Rays.